UN defers decision on Afghanistan, Myanmar


The nine-member United Nations credentials committee postponed taking any action regarding the official representation of Afghanistan and Myanmar at the UN after closed door discussions held on Wednesday.

Sweden’s Ambassador to the UN, Anna Enestrom, who chaired the meeting, told reporters that the “committee has decided to defer its decision of the credentials in these two situations”.

The committee presently comprises the Bahamas, Bhutan, Chile, China, Namibia, Russia, Sierra Leone, Sweden and the United States.

For both the military junta that rules Myanmar, and the Taliban, which took control of Afghanistan in mid-August, the issue of UN seats is crucial to gain official recognition for their respective governments. But both UN seats are currently occupied by diplomats appointed by the previous governments and who oppose their current regimes.

Myanmar ambassador Kyaw Moe Tun was appointed in October 2020 by the erstwhile government led by Aung San Suu Kyi. When the Myanmar military seized power in February, Kyaw Moe Tun delivered a speech at the UN opposing the coup.

Afghanistan’s ambassador to the UN Ghulam Isaczai was appointed by then-president Ashraf Ghani. Isaczai did not speak at the General Debate in late September, but neither did the Taliban’s chosen representative, Mohammad Suhail Shaheen. Both Kyaw Moe Tun and Isaczai have asked to keep their seats.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here